The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

FREE Shipping

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

RRP: £35.96
Price: £17.98
£17.98 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


I knew of Poplar as a station on the adorable Dockland Light Railway, which I took into work at Bank (the station for Bank of England) and knew that if I boarded the wrong train at Poplar, I could end up in parts of the Docklands in which I did not care to be. We also get to meet those the majority of us have not heard enough of but who worked tirelessly to ensure the changing tides of time did not drown the disadvantaged. Jennifer wrote the first volume of her memoirs by hand and sent them to Coates to read, and Coates later served as advisor on the books and the TV adaptation. We mainly use Royal Mail Tracked 48 Service for goods which weight less then 2kg, all other goods will be delivered by a Courier. Applicability of cancellation rights: Legal rights of cancellation under the Distance Selling Regulations available for UK or EU consumers do not apply to certain products and services.

Parents with a dozen or more children regularly shared two or three rooms, counting themselves lucky to have an indoor cold–water tap with which to manage the cooking, cleaning, and endless piles of laundry. It is also broadcast in the United States on the PBS network; the first series started on 30 September 2012.

We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Whilst the TV drama is a British favourite and now in its tenth series, we recommend reading the emotional and riveting true stories and memoirs that inspired the hit TV series, written by author and former nurse and midwife Jennifer Worth who's voice is narrated by Dame Vanessa Redgrave. Other stories cover backstreet abortions, the changing life of the docklands, infanticide, as well as the lives of the inhabitants of Nonnatus House. My adoration was more than just the heart-warming nature of the stories: The series is set in England, and I’m British. Childbirth has drifted away from being a natural event into a medical condition requiring medical treatment.

She masterfully simplifies their history and intentions so every reader, no matter their background, is able to understand them and form their own opinion. None of the Parliamentary Acts or amendments intended to create houses of horrors, and yet it all transpired.In stories that are funny, disturbing and moving in equal measure, we meet prostitutes and abortionists, bigamists and mischievous nuns, and see Jennifer earn the confidence of people whose lives are often stranger than fiction. On 3 November 2014, BBC announced that an eight-episode fifth series had been commissioned; it began airing on 17 January 2016; the fifth series takes the story into 1961. We work closely with publishers and authors to ensure that we offer the best books on the market for your child. The eighth series, set in 1964, covers the topic of abortion (which was not legalised until 1967), sickle cell disease, babies born with cleft lip and cleft palate and intersex people. The Narrator: Nicola Barber is an Audie Award-winning narrator whose voice can be heard in television and radio commercials and popular video games such as World of Warcraft.

The Poor Law Amendment Act 1834 started the workhouses, and a 1930 Parliament Act closed them, but these 96 years caused a bittersweet ripple in society. For the first three series of the programme, the score and the title theme used were composed by Peter Salem, and since series four the music has been composed by Maurizio Malagnini.Ted, whose wife Winnie very obviously gave birth to someone else’s child, refrained from asking questions and went with love. There's a World of books to choose from such as: Children's Books, Range includes Baby Books (0-3), Books for Toddlers (3-5), Early Readers (5-7), Childrens Story books (7-11), Young Teens (11-14), Young Adults (14-16) and Childrens Educational Books.

This part of London, which has always been a world in itself, took me down a path where so much came together and so much fell away. If you don't care for the details of terrified teens at full term, or botched abortions, look away now. However, with between 80 and 100 babies being born each month in Poplar alone, the primary work is to help bring safe childbirth to women in the area and to look after their countless newborns.Sarina enjoys bringing forth a different perspective and encouraging a different way of thinking through her writing. It tells of the experiences of a young trainee midwife in the East End of London in the 1950’s and is a graphic portrayal of the quite appalling conditions that the East Enders endured. As always there are heartbreaking stories such as the family devastated by tuberculosis and a ship's woman who 'serviced' the entire crew, as well as plenty of humour and warmth, such as the tale of two women who shared the same husband! Don't get me wrong, they are still good but just quite so good as the first but definitely well worth a read!

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop