Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

£7.495
FREE Shipping

Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

Lies We Sing to the Sea: AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! New for 2023, a sapphic YA fantasy romance inspired by Greek mythology, for all fans of The Song of Achilles

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

The author took parts and bits that she liked, threw them in and added ancient Greece as an aesthetic. There are just so many blatant historical inaccuracies that I could barely go 2 pages, if that, without having to look something up because I was damn sure it was just plain wrong - and 95% of the time, I was correct.

Unfortunately, during this time Athens is– again, quite famously– embroiled in the Peloponnesian War against Sparta. heterosexual relationships are prioritized here, which isn’t shocking after you read what the author thinks about lesbian relationships in greece.I found the beginning intriguing but it slowed somewhat in the middle and then the ending was poignant. I have various translations; there are parts that are very beautiful and readable, but it’s so long, and written in a ‘prose-y’ way that’s kind of impenetrable. At various points in the book it is implied or outright stated that everyone on Ithaca knows of the yearly sacrifice, that no one really knows about it, and that word of the sacrifices has spread across the Mediterranean.

They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. yes ancient Greek sexuality and contemporary opinions thereof were ‘complicated,’ but not in the way someone whose favourite book is The Song of Achilles would understand. melantho almost dies like three times throughout the novel, so it’s no surprise when she dies at the end. My whole community of friends who love Ancient Greece are literally all queer/trans, and we unilaterally agree this is awful. In Lies We Sing to the Sea, debut author Sarah Underwood delivers a thrilling and breathtaking tale that will enthral readers from the very first page as they are transported to the cursed shores of Ithaca.

They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. yes I know it’s not actually a “retelling” per se, but the marketing heavily leaned into the idea that it was. But when Leto awakens from her death on the shore of a long-forgotten island, its enigmatic keeper Melantho tells her that there’s only one way the curse can be broken. There is also romance, and there is love and desire, and there is a beautifully tragic man and two wrathful women!

this is a gorgeous, heart wrenching story that imagines the fate of penelope's twelve hanged maids as only the first set of hangings in a curse spanning centuries. These kinds of issues appear over and over and over in the book and frankly, it’s not good storytelling. The ending seemed very obvious to me and honestly I started laughing at the melodrama, especially that last paragraph. Perfect reading for fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Underwood's utterly immersive debut novel delivers a sweeping Sapphic epic of sacrifice, revenge and female courage inspired by Greek mythology. Now, for the stuff I was not a fan of: Reading the blurb for the book, you might think you understand the premise or the stakes.

I guess I never looked or inquired, but it’s pretty easy to tell early on that it’s a YA book (and I think I had assumed it was adult) so some things happened a bit too easily as befitting most YA books, etc. The plot lacks internal logic for why and when things happen except that it’s convenient for whatever scene is currently playing out. In particular, it takes the gods’ pettiness in Greek mythology, the way they want to punish for small crimes with disproportionate anger (and yet always hurt the innocent), and how the fall out is nearly always on the women.

Being someone who studied Greek mythology and literature, I was a bit reticent to read this book, but I decided to read it, when I got the chance by a friend gifting it to me, so I could make my own mind and not rely on others'. you can tell this woman has not actually read any other � The writing style is very basic - in fact, there was a very dramatic scene played totally straight that was written exactly as the "Shrek Fiona DONKEY!My interest has recently been piqued by Greek mythology and my eye was drawn to the beautiful cover of Lies We Sing to the Sea, which is inspired by Penelope’s 12 maids as told in The Odyssey. you can tell this woman has not actually read any other “retellings” of the Odyssey (despite her claim that none exist. Faithfulness" is often compromised in adaptation (for good or for ill) for the sake of reconfiguring the story to audiences beyond those the work was originally intended. I don’t care that it’s “sapphic” and queerness shouldn’t be used as a shield against legitimate criticism.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop